Project migration to Windows 10 issues

Post here about all aspects of D2 mod making whether it's information, problems or whatever. Please specify whether your post is relating to Classic D2 or the Expansion.

Moderator: Nizari

Post Reply
GreenHeaven
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 12:44 pm
France

Project migration to Windows 10 issues

Post by GreenHeaven » Sun Oct 18, 2020 6:05 pm

Hello dear modmakers, I'm having an issue loading the mods on a new computer:

I just bought a new razer laptop under windows 10. I transfered the Diablo II folder from my old windows 7 PC, with all the data, PlugY, MPQ files etc.

The game starts with my old saved games, but it doesn't load any of the mod files from the data folder (custom items, new skills). I don't get how to make the game load the custom data, any ideas ? Also the game loads in 4/3, full screen.

Thanks in advance for your help and happy modding.

GH

User avatar
Whaag
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:07 pm
Germany

Re: Project migration to Windows 10 issues

Post by Whaag » Tue Oct 20, 2020 12:20 am

Hi,

i just ran the game with D2SE in win7 compability mode and as admin without any problems in win10.

Did your mod paths changed somehow?

GreenHeaven
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 12:44 pm
France

Re: Project migration to Windows 10 issues

Post by GreenHeaven » Tue Oct 20, 2020 1:38 pm

Hey ! Thanks for your reply :)

I managed to sort things out, now the mods load flawlessly !

Copying and pasting DII folder from a PC to another messed up the old shortcut targets.

1) Create new shortcuts for DII.exe and PlugY
2) Right click and Add -direct -txt like this : 'C:\Program Files\Diablo II\DiabloII.exe' -direct -txt
3) Run them as admin under windows 7 or XP pack 3 compatibility

Only got one issue, i have black 4/3 boarders on both screen sides, how can I play full screen ?

Thanks,

GH

Devangell
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:06 am
Belgium

Re: Project migration to Windows 10 issues

Post by Devangell » Tue Oct 20, 2020 4:44 pm

Hi

Since you already use Plugy: If you use the latest version of it, you can play the game in windowed full screen at 1920*1080 resolution.
You won't have any borders and it looks much better :p

Otherwise, If I'm not mistaking, you an also use GlideWrapper to fix this.
http://www.svenswrapper.de/english/

Hope this helps.

GreenHeaven
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2020 12:44 pm
France

Re: Project migration to Windows 10 issues

Post by GreenHeaven » Wed Oct 21, 2020 8:45 am

Hey !

I tried glide after watching a few tutos to understand how it works but it doesn't display DII on full screen.

PlugY neither switches to full screen (I tried every setup in PlugY.ini), maybe because I'm using an external monitor ?

Devangell
Posts: 46
Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2020 10:06 am
Belgium

Re: Project migration to Windows 10 issues

Post by Devangell » Wed Oct 21, 2020 11:20 am

Hello

If you have Plugy v11.02 you should see the following in the .ini file:
[WINDOWED]
ActiveWindowed=1
RemoveBorder=1
WindowOnTop=0
Maximized=0
SetWindowPos=1
X=0
Y=0
Width=1920
Height=1080
LockMouseOnStartup=0
This works just fine for me. I don't think the fact that you use an external monitor should be any issue, whether it's set as a duplicate or extended screen.

As so far, it's the only solution left that I know off.

Grtz

Post Reply

Return to “General Mod Making”