Interview - (2005-04-16) SVR

Interview - (2005-04-16) SVR

Description: Onyx interviews for the Phrozen Keep SVR on his modmaking tools and future plans.

Categories: Interviews

[color=white][b]ONYX:[/b]

First of all, could you please say several words about who SVR is?[/color]

[color=yellow][b]SVR:[/b]

I'm a programmer... er, programaholic.
I live in Texas with my wife & 3 kids. (Well, my oldest son is off to college).
When I'm not at work (programming there of course) I'm in my computer room writing code.[/color]

How did you find the Keep and what attracted you to it back then?[/color]

I stumbled across it while looking for DCC info for Udie2.
I had dc6 & savefile formats down but DCC was a tough nut to crack.
Paul answered my post and we started exchanging info's and working on other code.[/color]

Have you ever thought about starting your own mod project and what would it's theme be if you ever do?[/color]

Not really. I'd much rather make tools than mod ;)
But if I ever did it would be a party oriented dungeon crawl, probably patterned after the old Wizardy theme.[/color]

Tell us a bit more about your UDIE2 editor. It's clear that it's not simply another character editor for Diablo II.[/color]

Yeah, I had 2 goals making it, to allow it read & write unknown/changed item formats and work just like the game.
It's one of the few editors that can load & save unknown items without trashing the character.
The binary editor turned into a handy tool for format discovery also.
If an item is not decoded correctly I can play with the unknown bits to find out what they do and add the new info into the item format txt.
No need to rewrite the code :)

After hooking up with the Keep, it turned out to be a good modding tool.
So I focused on keeping it flexible for modified txt's.[/color]

Do you plan new versions of UDIE2?[/color]

I would love to do Udie3.