[LoD v1.09x] Zy-El: Trial By Fire v1.02 by Kato

[LoD v1.09x] Zy-El: Trial By Fire v1.02 by Kato

Description: Reviewed by Eisead for the Phrozen Keep.

Categories: Mod Reviews

A good friend of mine, who told me Zy-El was the greatest thing sense sliced bread, talked me into downloading this mod. Anxious us to see what made it better, I downloaded the almost six megabyte file and unzipped it. Low and behold, the read-me was bigger then the mpq! Seeing as how the current style of mods is the bigger the better, I began to wonder what made it so great.

The readme For starters. I shouldn’t call it a Readme, I should call it, a guide. Spanning 18 pages of full color goodness explaining every little detail that was changed, documented all the runewords, and every cube recipe. On top of that every page is decorated with a piece of artwork, although some may be too mature for others, it really added to the flavor of the mod even before I started playing.

Zy-El is more of a crafters mods, with over 70% of the game being all about creating things in your cube. With 4500 levels, you'll have plenty of time to do all the crafting you want. Yes, the max level in this version of Zy-El is 4500, a feature that I don't recall being in any other mod. This gives you the ability to make a hybrid version of every character in the game and the opportunity for some crazy 'I WILL BE THE ONE' hardcore themed action. When you think of 4500 skill points your most likely starting to think of ways to use them, don't worry about that, the skill level max is 100. A thing I really liked is the way a 100-skill level makes some of those weaker skills really shine